Argostolion has been the capital and executive center of Kefalonia, Greece, since 1757. Argostolion developed in to one of the busiest ports in Greece, leading to affluence and growth. The power of this sea water was exploited in 1835 to power a water mill. A further water mill, a little nearer to Argostolion, was added in 1859. This mill, with the water wheel inside the building, is now a trendy cafe bar in the summer. An abandoned saloon sits on the site of the first mill, although the once-restored wheel is still present, next to the swallow holes. A little further along the Piccolo Gyro is the Agion Theodoron lighthouse, named after the small nearby church. More generally known as the Fanari lighthouse, this too was built during the British occupation, in 1829. The original building was destroyed in the earthquake of 1953, the newly restored present structure was rebuilt, complete with Doric-style columns, from the original plans.
One of the coolest things to do in Argostolion is
see the Loggerhead turtles in the Koutavos Lagoon. The Loggerhead Sea Turtle is
a sea turtle and the only member of the genus Caretta. It is distinguished by a
big head with rounded jaws. Adults can grow to an astounding weight of over 200
Or if you are in a historical mood visit the Kometatos Mansion. The mansion is one of the oldest buildings in Argostolion. This is now a small, private museum housing a numismatic collection and sets of lithographs of Kefalonia from the early 19th century.